Striving

Striving

I strive to be a good person

A good person

How utterly boring

I don’t strive to change the world

The world is always changing

And it’ll do it in its own time

Not on anyone else’s dime

Someone once said “obedient women are never remembered”

I guess I’ll be forgotten

But what that person neglected is everyone is eventually forgotten

Oh sure, their name is known

But the quality that made them, them is lost

Am I being too morbid?

The world needs good people

So I guess it’s not the worst thing to strive for

I could strive for myself and the betterment of my station

I could strive for others misfortune

So I guess it’s not the worst thing I could want

Even if others may sneer at my goal

-Kel Dayheart

Leave a Reply

